Rape victims would not be allowed to have an abortion under new law

News

A new state law in Ohio says that rape victims cannot have an abortion after a fetal heartbeat is detected, which is five to six weeks into a pregnancy. It means that women will have to carry their rapist’s child and an 11-year-old girl is not an exception. According to the police reports, the girl was raped by a 26-year-old multiple times and yet she wouldn’t be allowed to obtain abortion if the law wasn’t pending.

Dave Yost, Ohio Attorney General, commenting on the matter said that “Sometimes, the evolution of the law requires bold steps. In the last 46 years, the practice of medicine has changed. Science has changed. Even the point of viability has changed. Only the law has lagged behind.”

Mike DeWine, Ohio Governor says that government should “protect the most vulnerable, those who don’t have a voice.”
According to the records, 4,000 women became rape victims in Ohio in 2017, which means that thousands of women will be subjected to the new Ohio’s “fetal heartbeat bill” in the future. Most of the women do not even know that they are pregnant at a term of six weeks.

CBS News tried to contact the family of the 11-year-old rape victim to confirm her pregnancy status, but did not succeed. The rape is reported to be “non-forcible” as the victim was found at her rapist’s residence. The rapist is to be arraigned on Monday.


Natalia Veselnitskaya – official website

Natalia Veselnitskaya
Leave a Reply